Schengen Visa Application: Do You Need One?

| May 26, 2012 | 0 Comments

First We will give a list of Countries where their respective Nationals need an actual Short-Term Visa (1-90 days) as they are not covered by any type of waiver program. Please be advised that although you may hold a resident or alien status in an exempted(waiver) Country, if you’re a National of any of the following countries you will still need to apply for an actual Schengen Visa with the respective consulate of your first entry-point country or main-stay country.


(i.e. those needing a visa, regardless of duration of stay)

Countries/Nations who’s Citizen’s are not exempt are as follows:

Afghanistan, Albania*, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia*, Botswana,Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon+, Cape Verde, Central Africa, Chad, China, China (Hong Kong  &  Macao)**China (Taiwan) ***, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, D.R. Congo, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia,  Georgia****, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea, Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia,  Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica,  Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya. Kirghizistan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia*,  Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands ,Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro*, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Papua, Peru, Philippines, Qatar Refugees, Russia, Rwanda, Solomon, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia*, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St Lucia, St Thomas, St Vincent, Sudan, Surinam, Swaziland, Syria, Tadjikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan,  Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, former Yugoslavia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

British Overseas Citizens, British Overseas Territories Citizens (except: Gilbraltarians) without the right to Abode in the UK (those related solely to Akrotiri and Dhekelia), British Subjects without the right to Abode in the UK, British Protected well as those holding one of the following passportsPalestinian Authority passport, Serbian Coordination Directorate passport for Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija citizens, Kosovan passport for Republic of Kosovo citizens


(the following need not apply for a Schengen Visa for Short-Stay/Tourist)

*Those with Bio-metric Passports

**Hong Kong & Macao are a part of the S.A.R(Special Administrative Region)

***Except for ordinary Taiwanese passports which contains the identity card number of the holder.

****Special requirements may apply due to an agreement with the E.U. & Georgia (please see consulate for more information)


+For Cameroon citizens entering Germany, you must present a valid Cameroon Identity card.

Visa’s needed for Transit (i.e. Airport Transit Visa)

Some countries will need at the very least an Airport Transit visa if connecting through The Schengen Area (also including Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania)

These countries are as follows:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, D.R. of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, Sri Lanka


(i.e. those not needing a visa for a short stay of 1-90 days for tourism/business)

Countries/Nations who’s Citizen’s are Exempted are as follows:

Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Barbados, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Macedonia*, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro*, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, St. Kitts & Nevis, San Marino, Serbia*, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, USA, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela

*Those with Bio-metric Passports

Also “Exempt” are citizens of the U.K. & Ireland, this is because; while they are not member’s of the Schengen Agreement, they are a part of the EU, E.U. Citizens have to right to travel to/through any other E.U. Nation as they please. While The Schengen Area does have a few non-EU member states (Iceland, Switzerland/Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco) You will most likely need not worry about a visa for these Nations, a simple Tourist Visa stamp gained upon arrival will suffice.

We know from our research on the subject that many sites out there pushing visa products, will lead you to believe otherwise about UK & Ireland citizens & Schengen, but all you need is a little common sense and some research to find they are quite wrong.



As this deals with things of a Bureaucratic Nature, parts of the information displayed here can change at any time, while we will strive to keep the information as up to date as possible if you spot an error, please let us know. Contact us directly or let us know how we’re doing in the comments box below. 

Category: Application, Schengen Visa

Leave a Reply

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE